The Presidents Cup at the Golf Club of Dublin

The Presidents Cup at The Golf Club of Dublin

This post was written by U.S. Captain Fred Couples and is published as a part of a series of Captain’s Blogs on www.presidentscup.com.

I just returned home from an eventful week of Presidents Cup activities. It started off with a trip to the White House with International Team Captain Nick Price. We got to spend about 20 minutes trading stories with Presidents Obama in the Oval Office and even rolled a few putts on the putting green near the Rose Garden. Nick and I did our best to convince the Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup 2013 to attend the matches in October, and maybe play 18 with us at some point this year!

From there, I flew to Ohio to play in the Memorial Tournament for the 22nd time in my career. As a former champion of the event, I appreciate everything tournament host Jack Nicklaus has done to make Muirfield Village Golf Club one of the special places to play on the PGA TOUR. The gold course is always in amazing condition, and with the new expanded clubhouse and facilities, I have no doubt Muirfield will be a spectacular setting for The Presidents Cup later this year.

Also last week, I was thrilled to name on of my good friends, Davis Love III, as an assistant captain to the 2013 U.S. Team. A veteran of more than a dozen Ryder Cups and Presidents Cups as a play or captain, Davis will be a tremendous asset to the team, and I look forward to working with him and returning assistant Jay Haas.

Nine of the top 10 players in the U.S. Presidents Cup standings played the Memorial Tournament. I had the opportunity to play with or visit with many of those guys and get better acquainted with some others looking to play their way onto the team. Matt Kuchar, a regular on Presidents Cup and Ryder Cup teams over the last few years, won going away and moved to second in the U.S. standings as captain, that’s always a great result to see.

Automatic qualifying for 10 of the 12 roster spots on the U.S. Team will be finalized at the end of the 2013 Deutsche Bank Championship, with my two captain’s picks to follow on September 4. I look forward to the home stretch of qualifying as the excitement builds for The Presidents Cup at Jack’s place.

See you in October!

Fred