This post was written by U.S. Captain Fred Couples as is published as a part of a series of Captain’s Blogs on www.presidentscup.com. To view the original posts, click here.

The Presidents CupAs it does every April, being at Augusta National Golf Club for The Masters inspired me to play some great golf during the week. I seem to find a comfort zone there each year, which has allowed me to contend into my 50s. I hope to continue to play the Masters for many years to come and can’t wait to tee it up next year, as I relish each and every opportunity to compete in one of the world’s great sporting events.

In Augusta, it was great to see and play with many of the players that I have captained in the last two Presidents Cups, as well as several players who I expect to play their way onto the U.S. Team for the first time in 2013. I played a practice round with Tiger, and also got an up-close look at Dustin Johnson in the first two rounds.

Congratulations to Adam Scott, who moved to No. 1 in The Presidents Cup International Team standings in claiming the first Green Jacket for Australia. Adam is a classy player and individual, and his Masters victory will add to the buildup of The Presidents Cup as the event draws near.

The world also got a view of the future in Augusta, as 14-year-old Guan Tianlang of China wowed us all with his skill, demeanor and poise. I’m certain sometime in the near future, The Presidents Cup International roster will have a representative from China as the game continues to flourish in that part of the world.

While my team that gathers at Muirfield Village Golf Club this fall will most likely have several Presidents Cup rookies, you will also see players that have been staples of Presidents Cup or Ryder Cup teams for years. Every captain is different in terms of his approach to a team’s makeup, but relying on veteran leadership has been a successful formula for me in leading the team in the last two playings. I want our young players to relax, have fun and be comfortable with their pairings, and our veteran players have certainly helped in that process.

I look forward to monitoring the U.S. Team standings in the coming weeks and months in anticipation of what should be a great Presidents Cup at Jack’s place in October.