What is there for a 24 year old to do in Dublin, Ohio?….Plenty!

When I received the news that I had been hired as the new SMERF Sales and Marketing Manager for the Dublin Ohio Convention & Visitors Bureau, I was ecstatic.  From my interviews and research, I learned the position entailed “selling and marketing” the city of Dublin.  After living in the Columbus area for 15 years, I knew that Dublin is an amazing and unique city.  I moved to Delaware when I was 10 years old and lived there until I ventured a whopping 35 miles away to Bexley, Ohio to attend Capital University.  After graduating with a degree in Marketing, I moved to the northwest side of Columbus.  Since I have been a resident of Central Ohio for so long, I thought I would be ahead of the game when it came to learning about Dublin but boy, was I wrong!

Dublin has more to offer visitors than I ever had imagined!  There are so many events beyond the Dublin Irish Festival and the Memorial Tournament.  Not only is the city extremely family friendly and beautiful, but it really appeals to my demographic, as well.  When I make plans with friends, we automatically think to travel to the Short North or the Arena District.  But now I am thinking we have been missing the opportunity to experience Dublin!

I have been making daily mental notes on different places to bring my friends – starting with the Dublin Village Tavern.  What a great atmosphere to have a drink and appetizer!  Each day I look out my window and see their patio filled with people for lunch and after work Happy Hour.  I have now tried a few different menu items, but I’m planning to try something new next time – their Irish Egg Rolls.  Venturing down the road, you will come to the Brazenhead Irish Pub.  I’d visited there before for the great patio and specials, but I never knew they had live music, too.  That’s a perfect way to spend a night during the summer!  Or, if you like to try different beers, original cocktails and amazing food, Matt the Miller’s Tavern is the place to go.  I am a huge fan of their flatbreads – I need to go back to try a different item on the menu!

I also realized there are great little shops in Historic Dublin!  Each year, I travel to the mall to find something green to wear for St. Patty’s day (mostly so I don’t get pinched by friends!).  On Wednesday, I visited Ha’Penny Bridge Imports of Ireland for the first time.  They had the cutest shirts as well as other Irish gear!  I am embarrassed to say I never thought of looking in Historic Dublin for Irish themed clothing.  That same day we also stopped in to Clover Boutique.  I was tempted to try on every piece of clothing on the racks!  They had so many unique tops and dresses that you cannot find anywhere else.

Being a chocolate and sweets lover, I am becoming quite spoiled by working within a short walk of Sister’s Sweet Shoppe, Aboxa Fudge, Jeni’s Ice Cream and Our Cupcakery.  After tasting chocolate covered fudge (who knew there was such a heavenly creation!?) at Aboxa Fudge on Thursday, I had to be sure to run an extra mile or two that night!

My “Irish Attitude” has already been developed!  I can’t wait to continue to learn more about this great city and pass that knowledge on to others!

~Samantha Kennedy is the SMERF Sales & Marketing Manager for the Dublin (OH) Convention & Visitors Bureau. (SMERF is an acronym for Social, Military, Educational, Reunion and Fraternal markets.)