We’re now counting down the hours  …. until the 22nd Annual Dublin (OH) Irish Festival (DIF) kicks off!  Woo Hoo!  The unofficial start begins this DIF-Bandevening in Historic Dublin with the Pub Crawl and 4-Miler. The gates to the Festival (held at Coffman Park) open at 4 p.m. tomorrow (Friday). The event runs through Sunday evening (8/2). 

I can hardly wait!  You ARE going to be there–right? (Act fast and you can still book your Dublin Irish Festival Hotel Getaway Package online and take advantage of 50% off tickets.) Look for me at the Fest.  I’ll be the one with the green volunteer t-shirt on. (Ha ha!  Me and about 1,000 of my  friends!)  Okay, I’ll be the one with the green volunteer t-shirt on AND the video camera. Don’t worry. If you are dressed for the occasion and showing some Irish Attitude, I’ll find YOU!   To get you in the spirit, I’m going to share a few of my favorite things about  DIF.  You, too, can join in the fun by singing along …

      My Favorite DIF Things!
(Sung to the tune of “My Favorite things”)

Dub crawl, 4-miler, bog ponies and jigs,
Ladies of Longford, scones and curly wigs,
Darts, freckle contests, stout and Celtic rings,
These are a few of my favorite DIF things …

Bodhrans and bagpipes, giant iced teas,
Wake Tent and kilts, and fun for the “Wee,”
Stories and dancing, and jewelry galore,
Prodigals, Street Dogs and Celtic Tenors …

When the dogs bark—
When the heat hits–
When I’m feeling mean …
I simply remember my favorite DIF things …
Then I always feel SO GREEN!!

-Post by Mary